Why Urban International School?
For students whose English is not yet ready for academic classes, the real risk is losing a year in a language course. UIS's program, which combines language instruction and high school credits within the same day, stands out for families with this concern. The school was founded in 2009 and runs its middle and high school grades on its main campus on Finch Avenue.
- Students who do not want to fall behind on the diploma while learning the language.
- Families who want supervision and prefer their child to stay in the school's own residence in Toronto.
- Those who want to keep different goals open, such as university, college or going directly into work.
Reasons: the verified features that set UIS apart
The information in this section is taken from UIS's fee and accommodation pages. Each feature is explained through its effect on the student's daily life and the family's plan:
- AAP/ESL program: English is taught in the mornings and academic courses in the afternoons. The student keeps earning OSSD credits while developing the language.
- Five-term calendar: The year consists of ten-week terms, including an eight-week summer term. Students can enrol throughout the year and plan accelerated progress.
- Four accommodation types: The supervised Main Residence, Regular Residence, and Premium and Regular Homestay options are available. All include three meals, giving the family a choice by budget and age.
- Fees by credit: Annually, 8 credits cost CAD 20,000, 9 credits CAD 22,500 and 10 credits CAD 25,000. The cost is proportional to the course load.
- Three separate streams: There are University Stream, College Stream and WorkReady programs. If the student's goal changes, there is no need to change schools.
- Transport: The campus is close to Finch West subway station, which makes getting around the city easier.
- Middle school grades: Grades 7-8 are also admitted. A student who starts early can move on to high school at the same school.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Annual tuition is CAD 20,000 for 8 credits, CAD 22,500 for 9 credits or CAD 25,000 for 10 credits; accommodation is priced separately.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition, 8 credits | 20,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Annual tuition, 9 credits | 22,500 | listed with the annual fees |
| Annual tuition, 10 credits | 25,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| School fee (per term) | 500 | listed with the annual fees |
| Custodian service (12 months) | 1,000 | per month |
| Insurance (annual) | 700 | listed with the annual fees |
| Registration | 350 | one-time |
| Uniform | 350 | one-time |
| Administrative deduction if the study permit is refused (remainder refunded) | 600 | one-time |
| Headline annual tuition | 20,000 | school year not stated |
| One-time fees in the first year | 1,300 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 2,000 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.
The page does not state the school year or accommodation prices; fees are subject to change; confirm with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 20,000, this fee is CAD 4,380 below the median of CAD 24,380 among 16 private schools, tuition only.
Outcome: what the student gains
The model that combines language and credits saves time and cost for the right student. The gains are:
- Adjustment without losing a year: A student with a language gap starts accumulating credits from the first day.
- Management from a single source: Education, residence, custodian service and insurance can all be handled through the same school.
- A flexible graduation plan: The frequent term structure allows the remaining credits to be completed in a shorter time.
- A route that fits the goal: The Portfolio and Pathway programs strengthen the application file.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Additional fees: There is a school fee of CAD 500 per term, a registration fee of CAD 350 and a uniform fee of CAD 350. The 12-month custodian service costs CAD 1,000 and annual insurance CAD 700. These are added to tuition. Current fees should be confirmed with the school before applying.
- Intensive pace: The ten-week terms move quickly. A student without regular study habits may struggle.
- City school: It offers a school environment within the city, not a campus with wide open spaces.
The school states that if the Study Permit application is refused, it issues a refund after an administrative deduction of CAD 600. The visa decision is made by IRCC. High school students are exempt from the PAL requirement. After graduation, recognition of the diploma in the student's home country is requested from that country's education authority. We can work out together which program your child can start with according to their English level and how many credits are needed; you can schedule a free preliminary assessment meeting with Canadian Edu Centre.