Main page / CAIS Schools

CAIS school

Upper Canada College

Toronto, Ontario

Upper Canada College (UCC) was founded in 1829. In Toronto it teaches boys from JK to Year 12 through IB programmes. The boarding programme covers Years 8-12 and is limited to 88 students.

Need

Why Upper Canada College?

Families of boys who are looking for one of Canada's longest-established schools, and who want big-city opportunities together with the IB diploma, look at UCC. Its campus in central Toronto and its small boarding programme match those expectations. CAIS accreditation shows that the school is regularly reviewed against national standards.

  • Those who prefer a boys' school: Families who deliberately choose single-sex education. This is a personal decision and should be discussed with the student.
  • Those targeting the IB Diploma: Students who want to complete their final two years in the Diploma Programme. The school runs the DP in Years 11 and 12.
  • Those who want city life: Families who value being close to Toronto's cultural and sporting life. The campus is on Lonsdale Road.
Reasons

Reasons: what sets UCC apart

  • Almost two centuries of history: Founded in 1829, the school's traditions and alumni network have been built up over generations, giving students a wide circle of contacts.
  • Three IB programmes: The PYP, MYP and DP are offered together. The Diploma Programme in Years 11-12 is a natural continuation of the earlier years.
  • Small boarding community: There are only 88 students in the boarding programme, so each student is known closely by the staff.
  • Two boarding houses: Seaton's House and Wedd's House are right next to the Upper School. Students can walk to classes, the gym and the dining hall.
  • Close supervision: The student-to-staff ratio in boarding is 7:1. Staff live in the houses, so parents can be confident of constant adult support.
  • Diversity: Boarders come from 23 countries and speak 23 languages. Students learn to share a house with friends from different cultures.
  • Norval Outdoor School: The school has an outdoor campus outside the city, so a student studying in Toronto also benefits from outdoor education.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

International boarding is CAD 87,580 per year for Years 8-10 and CAD 89,570 for Years 11-12 in 2026-27.

ItemCADWhen
International boarding, Years 8-10 (annual)87,580listed with the annual fees
International boarding, Years 11-12 (annual)89,570listed with the annual fees
Boarding registration fee7,500one-time
Headline annual fee with boarding87,5802026-27
One-time fees in the first year7,500added to the first year only

The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,758 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.

Page does not state what tuition covers; day tuition not stated; fees may change, confirm with the school.

Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.

How this fee compares

At CAD 87,580, this fee is CAD 2,070 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.

Result

Outcome: an orderly boarding life in the heart of the city

  • International diploma: The IB Diploma Programme is a framework recognised in university applications in different countries. Recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.
  • Strong alumni network: Being a graduate of a long-established school provides connections in professional life. This network also offers guidance during university and internships.
  • City experience: Students get to know Toronto's multicultural life under supervision. Museums, theatres and sports events are close to campus.
  • Personal attention: The small boarding group makes it easier to notice adjustment problems early. Staff live in the same house as the students.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Cost: The 2026-27 international boarding fee is CAD 87,580 for Years 8-10 and CAD 89,570 for Years 11-12. Boarding students pay a one-time CAD 7,500 registration fee. Confirm the current fee with the school before applying.
  • Competition: Boarding places are very limited and admission is selective. A strong report card and advanced English are expected. No fixed deadline for boarding applications could be found; ask the school about the timeline. After admission a Study Permit application is made, and the decision is made by IRCC. Students under 17 need a custodian in Canada.
  • School type: UCC admits boys only and its academic pace is demanding. Families who want a co-educational environment should look at other schools. Because boarding admission starts in Year 8, the entry year should be settled from the outset.

A UCC application requires early and careful preparation. Arrange a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre so that we can assess your child's profile together.

Request a free pre-assessment