Main page / CAIS Schools

CAIS school

Rosseau Lake College

Rosseau, Ontario

Founded in 1967, Rosseau Lake College is a small co-educational school on the shore of Lake Rosseau in the Muskoka region, serving Grades 7 to 12. About 70% of its students board.

Need

Why Rosseau Lake College?

Families of children who get overlooked in large schools and who learn best by doing often look for a very small, nature-based school. The school's 140-student scale and its "wall-less classrooms" approach are aimed at that kind of student. CAIS accreditation means the school is also reviewed against national standards.

  • Hands-on learners: Students who learn better through projects and field work. The school describes this approach as "wall-less classrooms".
  • Families wanting a very small school: A close community where everyone knows each other. Total enrollment is 140.
  • Nature-loving students: Students who enjoy a lake and forest setting. The campus is on the shore of Lake Rosseau.
Reasons

Reasons: what sets Rosseau Lake College apart

  • Small scale: 140 students in total, with one instructor for every five students, so each student is known and followed.
  • Boarding focus: 70% of students live on campus, so school life continues into evenings and weekends.
  • International mix: Half the students are international, representing 23 nationalities, so students use English in a multicultural setting.
  • Experiential learning: The 56-acre campus serves as a "living laboratory", and lessons are taught through inquiry and projects.
  • ESL courses: English as a Second Language classes support students who need language help.
  • Early guidance: University counselling begins in Grade 9 with one-on-one meetings, so course choices match students' goals.
  • Distinctive courses: Offerings include Wilderness First Aid, Expedition Leadership and Entrepreneurship.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

International boarding tuition is CAD 83,000 per year; the page does not state the school year.

ItemCADWhen
International boarding tuition (annual)83,000listed with the annual fees
Study permit guardianship service offered by the school, from 2026-27 (page does not say whether one-time or recurring)800listed with the annual fees
Registration fee4,000one-time
Headline annual fee with boarding83,000school year not stated
One-time fees in the first year4,000added to the first year only

The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,300 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.

School year of the tuition figure is not stated; confirm the current rate with the school. Flights and personal expenses not included. Sibling discount offered, amount not stated.

Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.

How this fee compares

At CAD 83,000, this fee is CAD 6,650 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.

Result

Outcome: self-aware, confident students

  • Being visible: In a small school every student speaks up and takes on responsibility. This is especially valuable for shy students.
  • Recognised diploma: All graduates earn the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD). Recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.
  • International experience: Round Square membership and the Duke of Edinburgh program create opportunities beyond the classroom, including joint projects with schools in other countries.
  • Practical skills: Outdoor classes build leadership and problem-solving abilities, which students can highlight in university applications.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Cost: The school lists international boarding tuition at CAD 83,000 and a registration fee of CAD 4,000, with a sibling discount available. The school's page does not state which school year the fees apply to, so confirm current fees with the school before applying. The school year runs from September to June; flights and personal expenses must be added to the budget.
  • Location: The village of Rosseau is very small and far from a major city, and winters are harsh. It is not a good fit for students who want city life. Uniforms are mandatory, so families should discuss whether the student is comfortable with this structure and with rural living.
  • Custodian and documents: A Study Permit requires a notarised custodianship declaration. From 2026-27 the school offers its own custodianship service for CAD 800. Recommended language tests are Duolingo, IELTS or TOEFL iBT. The school assists with the Study Permit application, but the visa decision is made by IRCC.

Is a small, nature-focused school like Rosseau Lake College right for your child? Let us assess it together in a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre.

Request a free pre-assessment