Main page / Public Schools

Public school district

Peel District School Board

Mississauga, Ontario

The Peel District School Board runs schools in Peel Region, right next to Toronto. International students attend six of its high schools, and the Peel Academy for International Students was set up to support them.

Need

Why Peel District School Board?

Families who want Toronto's opportunities but prefer a secular, multicultural public school often choose Peel. The region has a population above 1,320,000 and is described as one of the safest and most multicultural places in the world. The board serves Brampton, Caledon and Mississauga, from kindergarten to Grade 12.

  • Proximity to a big city: Suits students who want to live 20 minutes from central Toronto.
  • Multicultural environment: Suits families looking for a school where students from many backgrounds are common. The region is one of the most populous in southern Ontario.
  • Public transit: Suits families who want their children to travel to school by bus on their own.
Reasons

Reasons: scale, a dedicated support unit and proximity to Toronto

  • Peel Academy for International Students: Created to strengthen support for international students, so they have a unit focused on their needs. The international program began in September 2011.
  • Six designated high schools: International students are grouped in six high schools, which are used to students from many countries.
  • Large system: With 153,000 students and more than 240 schools, the board offers broad resources and course choice, which improves the chance of finding courses that match a student's interests.
  • Location: Downtown Toronto is 20 minutes away and Niagara Falls is one hour away, making city and travel options easy to reach.
  • Airport: Toronto Pearson International Airport is inside the region, so arrivals and holiday travel are simple.
  • Three accommodation providers: The board works with Canada's Newcomer Services, Homestay Select Inc. and SIED, so families can compare host-family options. Accommodation is arranged for every student who needs a place to live.
  • Easy-to-reach homes: Host homes are in safe neighbourhoods and close to public transit, so students can make the daily commute independently.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

ItemCADAs published on CAPS-I
Tuition, one school year14,800Elementary: $13,800 (includes a $500 admin fee). Secondary: $14,800 (includes $500 admin. fee) for up to 8 credits
Health insurance540$540
Homestay, full yearsee textvaries by homestay provider, please confirm directly with them.
Total of the published items, without homestay15,340Homestay is priced by the homestay provider and is not included in this total.

Tuition alone works out to about CAD 1,480 per school month over a 10-month year. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.

Tuition includes a CAD 500 administration fee. The semester fee on CAPS-I is labelled September 2021; confirm with the board.

The same tuition figure is published on the district's own website, read on 11 October 2026. That page does not state which school year it applies to.

The other items are taken from the district's CAPS-I member page, read on 11 October 2026. Items shown as "see text" could not be read as a single amount and are left out of the total.

How this fee compares

At CAD 14,800, this fee is CAD 700 below the median of CAD 15,500 among 32 public school districts in Ontario.

Result

Outcome: a student who becomes independent on the edge of a big city

  • City skills: Students learn to organize their routine by using public transit, a skill that prepares them for university.
  • Easier adjustment: A multicultural setting reduces the feeling of being an outsider for international students.
  • Administrative fee included: High school tuition is CAD 14,800 per year or CAD 7,400 per semester, including a CAD 500 administrative fee. Elementary tuition is CAD 13,800 per year. The high school fee covers courses up to eight credits.
  • Large international community: About 364 international students attend. Full-year and single-semester options are available, with intakes in September and February.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Program information: The CAPS-I page does not specify programs such as IB or AP. Families with those goals should ask each school directly, and the scope of language support should also be confirmed school by school.
  • Cost: Living around Toronto is expensive. Costs include CAD 540 per year for health insurance, plus homestay fees that vary by provider. Current tuition should be confirmed with the school before applying. Homestay and guardianship fees must be checked separately with each of the three providers.
  • Scale and timing: The schools are large and crowded, so shy students may find the adjustment hard. Applications close in June and November, and exact deadlines are posted on the board's website. A Study Permit is required for study longer than six months and is issued by IRCC. High school study is exempt from the Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL). Students under 17 arriving without a parent must have a guardian appointed in Canada.

Let us work out together which of Peel's six high schools suits your child. Book a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre.

Request a free pre-assessment