Why King's-Edgehill School?
Families who are aiming for the IB diploma but want to send their child to a small, long-established boarding school rather than a crowded city school look into KES. The school is in Nova Scotia, on the Atlantic coast, and its fee is lower than that of boarding schools on the West Coast. CAIS accreditation is a quality assurance showing that the school is reviewed against 12 national standards.
- Families who want the IB: Those who want an internationally recognized diploma from an experienced school.
- Those looking for a small school: Parents who want a community of about 350 students where everyone knows each other. Students come from Nova Scotia, other provinces and abroad.
- Those who want a disciplined, active day: Students who prefer a regular schedule with sport every day.
Reasons: the features that make KES the answer to this search
- IB experience: The school has taught the IB Diploma since 1980, so its teaching staff have long experience with the program.
- Small classes: The student-teacher ratio is 8 to 1 and the average class size is 13. Students have to be active in class and gaps are noticed early.
- Staff living on campus: More than half of the teachers and staff live on campus, so students can reach an adult outside class hours as well.
- Daily sport: About 40 sport and healthy-living options are offered every day. The school also runs the Duke of Edinburgh's Award program.
- Cadet Corps: The 254 KES Highland Cadet Corps is part of the school's tradition. Through it, students gain experience of leadership and team discipline.
- Language support: There is a comprehensive English Language Learning program. Students whose English is still developing are prepared for the academic program.
- A large campus: The 92-acre site has 19 buildings. Residences, classrooms and sports facilities are on the same campus.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
International boarding is CAD 79,950 per year for 2026-27; inclusions are not stated.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee, international boarding | 79,950 | listed with the annual fees |
| Legacy Fee (new international boarding students) | 3,000 | one-time |
| Application fee | 200 | one-time |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 79,950 | 2026-27 |
| One-time fees in the first year | 3,200 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 7,995 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.
TRIP tuition refund insurance is mandatory for new students, amount not stated; day fee and inclusions not stated; confirm with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 79,950, this fee is CAD 9,700 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: what it means for the student and family
- A recognized diploma: The IB Diploma is a qualification known in many countries. Admission decisions are made by universities. Because the program is intensive, regular study habits are essential.
- Close supervision: Small classes and teachers living on campus ease the worries of a family far away. The student can easily reach an adult when needed.
- A more accessible budget: The annual fee is clearly below that of comparable boarding schools in British Columbia. The school also reports distributing more than CAD 2 million in financial aid each year.
- An additional option: The school states that it has admission agreements with all 10 universities in Nova Scotia. The conditions should be obtained from the school.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Cost: The 2026-27 international boarding fee is CAD 79,950. New international boarders pay a one-time CAD 3,000 Legacy Fee and a CAD 200 application fee. TRIP tuition refund insurance is mandatory for new students. The current fee should be confirmed with the school.
- Location and climate: Windsor is a small town; the nearest large city is Halifax. Winters on the Atlantic coast are snowy and cold. International travel involves connecting flights. The calm setting makes it easier to focus on studies, but it may feel confining for a student who wants city life.
- Formalities and timeline: Students under 17 arriving without a parent need a custodian and a Study Permit. The visa decision is made by IRCC. The school has not published an application deadline. For September entry, it is sensible to start a year in advance.
We can assess together whether KES's IB program and boarding life are right for your child. You can contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary assessment meeting.