Why Keystone School?
Families looking for a small downtown school where teachers know each student well, rather than a large campus, often consider Keystone. The school is in the Annex neighbourhood, right beside the University of Toronto.
- Looking for small classes: Parents worried that their child will fall behind in crowded classrooms tend to look at this school.
- IB or OSSD choice: Families who want time to decide between the two diplomas can consider both at the same school.
- City-centre location: The university area and nearby subway access suit students who want an urban lifestyle.
Reasons: features that set Keystone School apart
The school's official website describes how its small scale benefits students in the following ways.
- Average class size of 12: Low enrolment lets teachers notice gaps in a student's learning early, and language adjustment moves faster.
- OSSD and IB Diploma Programme: Students can graduate with the Ontario diploma or choose the IB route, which has strong international recognition.
- Entry from Grade 6: Middle and high school share one building, so a student who starts early can stay through Grade 12 without changing schools.
- Annex location: Being near the University of Toronto gives students daily access to campus life and the city's cultural offerings.
- Supervised homestay: Host families undergo a criminal record check and a reference check, and are chosen within 30 to 60 minutes of the school by public transit, so parents get a clear framework for accommodation.
- Residence for senior students: Students aged 16 and over can live in the nearby Parkside Residence, which makes the move toward independent living before university more gradual.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Annual tuition for international students is CAD 21,300 for 2026-27; homestay is CAD 1,650 per month.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (international students) | 21,300 | listed with the annual fees |
| IB Diploma Programme, per year | 3,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Resource fee | 750 | listed with the annual fees |
| Activity fee | 500 | listed with the annual fees |
| Health insurance | 750 | listed with the annual fees |
| Homestay, per month | 1,650 | per month |
| Registration fee | 3,000 | one-time |
| Headline annual tuition | 21,300 | 2026-27 |
| One-time fees in the first year | 3,000 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 2,130 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.
Homestay is a monthly amount; Parkside Residence fee not stated; frequency of resource, activity and insurance fees not stated; confirm with the school
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 21,300, this fee is CAD 3,080 below the median of CAD 24,380 among 16 private schools, tuition only.
Outcome: what it means for the student and family
These features translate into the following benefits for families and students.
- Close monitoring: Small classes let parents follow their child's academic and social progress through concrete feedback from teachers.
- Flexible diploma path: Families can choose between IB and OSSD based on the student's academic strength and target country.
- Predictable budget: The school lists its 2026–27 fee items individually, so families can estimate total costs in advance.
- Education connected to the city: Museums, libraries and the university campus are close to the school, so learning extends beyond the classroom.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Who it suits: Students who can travel independently, adapt to city life and prefer a small school community.
- Costs: On top of tuition, families pay a resource fee (CAD 750), an activity fee (CAD 500), health insurance (CAD 750), an annual IB DP fee (CAD 3,000) and accommodation costs. Current fees should be confirmed with the school before applying.
- Accommodation structure: The school has no residence of its own. Students under 16 live with a host family, and students under 17 need a custodian.
The school accepts applications up to one year in advance and admits students in September, with a summer intake when places remain. Applications require an identity document and the last two years of report cards. Programs longer than six months require a Study Permit, which IRCC issues, so early preparation is recommended. Let us explore the IB versus OSSD question together based on your child's academic history. Book a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre.