Main page / Private Schools

Private school

Columbia International College

Hamilton, Ontario

Columbia International College (CIC) has been a boarding school in Hamilton since 1979, offering the OSSD program to grades 9–12. It is known for its Total Care system, which follows students' academic, social, emotional and physical development.

Need

Why Columbia International College?

A parent sending a child abroad for the first time worries mainly about daily life: meals, bedtime, and who is looking after the child. CIC takes responsibility for all of these through its structure.

  • Families who want everything from one institution: Education, housing, meals and supervision provided by the same school.
  • Families who want a large, multinational school: Those looking for a diverse student body.
  • Students who want to finish the final year quickly: Those who want to start in January and finish in June.
Reasons

Reasons: the features that define CIC

This section draws on CIC's official pages about the school, fees and boarding life.

  • Total Care Education System: Four areas (academic, social, emotional and physical) are monitored together, so staff follow overall wellbeing, not just grades.
  • Constant supervision: Trained staff, resident house parents and campus nurses provide 24/7 coverage, so parents have a contact at any hour.
  • Since 1979: More than 40 years of accepting international students have established its processes.
  • 70+ countries: The student body is multinational, and English is the common language.
  • Fast Track Grade 12: A six-course program runs from January to June, letting eligible students finish the final year in one semester.
  • Total Care+: Students under 16 receive enhanced supervision.
  • University partnerships: CIC runs the Elite Pathway program with the University of Toronto and has partnerships with other Canadian universities. It provides structured application support, but universities make the admission decisions.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

The 10-month, 8-course program totals CAD 53,500, including tuition of CAD 27,200, residence, meals, transportation and other expenses; the school year is not stated.

ItemCADWhen
Tuition27,200listed with the annual fees
Residence11,000listed with the annual fees
Meals13,000listed with the annual fees
Transportation1,500listed with the annual fees
Other expenses800listed with the annual fees
Total Care+ (under 16), per term1,100listed with the annual fees
Application300one-time
Health insurance1,000one-time
Uniform package650one-time
New student account2,000one-time
Headline annual fee with boarding53,500school year not stated
One-time fees in the first year3,950added to the first year only

The headline fee works out to about CAD 5,350 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.

School year not stated; actual cost may vary by student age and academic status; Fast Track fee not stated; confirm with the school

Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.

How this fee compares

At CAD 53,500, this fee is CAD 1,150 above the median of CAD 52,350 among 12 private schools with boarding included.

Result

Outcome: what it delivers for the family

Comprehensive care reduces the number of issues a family has to manage from a distance.

  • Package price: For the 10-month program, tuition is CAD 27,200, residence CAD 11,000, meals CAD 13,000, transport CAD 1,500 and other costs CAD 800, for a total of CAD 53,500.
  • Peace of mind: The school handles housing, meals and health support.
  • Regular updates: A student tracking system lets parents follow progress.
  • Focused setting: Hamilton is a calmer university city than Toronto.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Additional mandatory fees: The application fee is CAD 300, health insurance CAD 1,000, the uniform package CAD 650 and the new student account CAD 2,000, all paid separately. Total Care+ costs CAD 1,100 per term for students under 16. Families should confirm current fees with the school before applying.
  • Large school: It is a big institution, so it may not suit families looking for a boutique environment with small classes.
  • Structured living: Residence rules are strict, and students who value independence may struggle at first.

Practical notes

The school says actual costs may vary by age and academic status, so a personalized quote is needed. A study permit is required for studies longer than six months. High school students are exempt from the Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL), and IRCC makes the visa decision. Students under 17 need a custodianship document, and recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.

Let us build a calendar for the August and January intakes and a total cost estimate based on your child's age. Contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary consultation.

Request a free pre-assessment