Main page / CAIS Schools

CAIS school

Ashbury College

Ottawa, Ontario

Ashbury College is a co-educational day and boarding school founded in Ottawa in 1891. It has been an IB World School for more than 40 years and offers the IB Diploma Programme together with the OSSD.

Need

Why Ashbury College?

The school suits families who want their child to learn both English and French, and to do so in a safe capital city. CAIS accreditation shows that the quality of education and management is reviewed against national standards.

  • Those aiming for two languages: Students who want to strengthen French alongside English. French is one of Canada's two official languages.
  • Those who want the IB Diploma: Students who want to graduate with an internationally recognized program. The school has taught this program for more than 40 years.
  • Those who want to live in the capital: Students who prefer to study in a large but calm city. Ottawa is home to federal institutions and embassies.
Reasons

Reasons: the features that set Ashbury College apart

  • Long IB experience: More than 40 years as an IB World School means the Diploma Programme is delivered by a settled teaching staff.
  • Two diploma pathways: Alongside the IB Diploma, the OSSD and IB certificates are offered; students can choose the load that suits their strengths.
  • Bilingual options: Thanks to English and French bilingual courses, the student can progress in both official languages.
  • Small classes: The student-teacher ratio is 8:1 and the average class size is 17. Students get the chance to speak in class.
  • Three boarding houses: Boarders come from more than 40 countries and live in three separate houses. The setting is multicultural but family-sized.
  • Capital location: The campus is close to Parliament Hill, museums and the Rideau Canal; lessons are supported by the city's cultural resources.
  • Easy access: The international airport is 30 minutes away and the train station 10 minutes. Holiday travel and family visits are easy to plan.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

Annual boarding fee is CAD 87,660 for 2026-27; inclusions are not stated.

ItemCADWhen
Annual boarding fee87,660listed with the annual fees
Headline annual fee with boarding87,6602026-27

The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,766 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.

Page does not state what the fee covers or whether international students pay a different boarding fee; uniforms, insurance, personal expenses and winter clothing are extra; ask the school.

Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.

How this fee compares

At CAD 87,660, this fee is CAD 1,990 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.

Result

Outcome: a bilingual, international outlook

  • Wide university choice: The IB Diploma and OSSD together support applications in Canada and abroad. On return, recognition is handled by the home country's education authority.
  • Language gains: The student can develop French alongside English; this is a distinct advantage at university and in working life in Canada.
  • A global environment: Students from more than 60 countries study together at the school, and students from more than 40 countries live together in boarding.
  • Life skills: The boarding program focuses on independence and daily living skills; the student can organize their own routine on moving to university.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Cost: The 2026-27 boarding fee is published as CAD 87,660. An additional budget is needed for uniform, insurance and personal spending. The current fee and what it covers should be confirmed with the school before applying, and families should ask whether the fee differs for international students.
  • Application timeline: Boarders are admitted mainly to grades 9, 10 and 11; there are very few places in grade 12. Review begins in January and places are usually filled by March. The admission decision is generally communicated within a week of the file being completed. The Study Permit application follows; the visa decision is made by IRCC, and students under 17 need a custodian.
  • Climate: Ottawa winters are very cold and snowy. The student should be open to winter activities such as ice skating, and a separate budget should be set aside at the start for winter clothing.

We recommend determining the right grade and timing for Ashbury College and the IB program together. You can contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary assessment meeting.

Request a free pre-assessment