Why Alexander Academy?
Students arriving in the final years of high school most want to know how to reach university faster while earning their diploma. The school links high school and university through its sister institution, Alexander College.
- Early university step: Grade 12 students who want to earn university credit should look at this school.
- Language preparation: Students who want to strengthen their academic English before entering the Dogwood program have a gradual route.
- Central location: The school suits families who want their child in downtown Vancouver.
Reasons: features that set Alexander Academy apart
The school's admissions and academic program pages give the details of this bridge between high school and university:
- BC Dogwood diploma: The school is certified by the province of British Columbia, so graduates receive the Dogwood diploma, which is recognized internationally.
- Four-level ELDP: The English Language Development Program has four levels. Applicants are assessed in speaking, reading and writing before admission, so each student starts at their own level.
- University Transfer Program: Grade 12 students with fewer than 10 credits left to graduate can take up to two university transfer courses at Alexander College. These courses also count as high school credits.
- 1:10 student-teacher ratio: Teachers can follow each student closely, and classroom participation increases.
- Multicultural environment: Students come from more than 30 countries, and English is the shared language.
- Straightforward application: The application requires a passport, notarized report cards from the last two years, and a Zoom interview, so the process can be completed from the student's home country.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Annual tuition is CAD 24,800 for two semesters of the BC Dogwood Graduation Program; the school year is not specified.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (two semesters) | 24,800 | listed with the annual fees |
| Student services | 1,200 | listed with the annual fees |
| Uniform | 900 | listed with the annual fees |
| Health insurance | 600 | listed with the annual fees |
| Application fee | 300 | one-time |
| Headline annual tuition | 24,800 | school year not stated |
| One-time fees in the first year | 300 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 2,480 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.
School year not stated; page does not say whether uniform and health insurance recur annually; confirm current fees with the school
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 24,800, this fee is CAD 420 above the median of CAD 24,380 among 16 private schools, tuition only.
Outcome: what it means for the student and family
These features bring the following benefits:
- Smoother transition to university: Students experience university-level pacing while still in high school.
- Level-appropriate start: The language program keeps students from entering academic classes unprepared.
- City amenities: The school is centrally located, near libraries and public transit.
- Predictable fees: Tuition and additional fees are listed on the school's website.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Who it suits: Students who arrive in the final years of high school, have a clear university goal, and can get around the city independently.
- Accommodation: The school does not offer homestay itself. Families arrange housing through recommended providers. Students under 17 need a custodian.
- Costs: On top of tuition, the school charges CAD 300 for the application, CAD 1,200 per year for student services, CAD 900 for a uniform, and CAD 600 for health insurance. Families should confirm current fees with the school before applying.
Practical notes
The school is a day school in a city building, so families should not expect a large campus. Recommended host families should be at least 25 years old, provide three meals a day and a dedicated study desk, and host no more than two international students at a time. A study permit is required for studies longer than six months; IRCC makes the decision, and high school study is exempt from the Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL). Admission to the University Transfer Program requires a strong academic record, and acceptance is not guaranteed. Recognition of the diploma in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority, so families should keep report cards and transcripts.
Let us discuss how the language program and the university transfer courses could fit your child's plan. Contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary consultation.