Why Albert College?
Families of students who will be studying abroad for the first time look for a school that is small, friendly and provides language support. The school combines a small environment with ESL support and mostly single rooms. CAIS accreditation shows that the school is reviewed against national standards.
- Those who need language support: Students who need to bring their English up to an academic level. The school also runs an ESL school in the summer months.
- Families looking for a small school: Families who do not want their child to get lost in a crowded environment.
- Those who want to start in grade 7: Families considering a move to boarding during the middle school years. There is a separate house for younger boarders.
Reasons: the features that set Albert College apart
- The Five A's approach: It covers academics, arts, athletics, adventure and active citizenship together, so the student develops in five areas, not only in class.
- ESL support: Language support is integrated into the academic program and an ESL school is held in the summer, so the student can close the language gap without falling away from classes.
- AP courses: Students whose language reaches a sufficient level can move on to university-level content through Advanced Placement courses.
- Single rooms: Most rooms are single, so the student has a space of their own for studying and resting.
- Houses by age: Younger boarders live in Baker House and older students in Graham Hall; supervision and rules are adjusted to age.
- Round-the-clock staff support: Housemasters and their assistants can be reached at any hour of the day, offering parents an arrangement close to a family setting.
- Application without an entrance exam: International boarding applicants are not asked to sit an entrance exam; an IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo score is sufficient.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
International boarding is CAD 94,000 per year for Grades 9-12 and CAD 86,300 per year for Grades 7-8; the school year is not stated.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| International boarding, Grades 9-12 | 94,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| International boarding, Grades 7-8 | 86,300 | listed with the annual fees |
| Registration fee | 5,000 | one-time |
| Expense advance | 3,000 | one-time |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 94,000 | school year not stated |
| One-time fees in the first year | 8,000 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 9,400 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included. Flights, pocket money, the study permit fee and biometrics are not included.
School year and inclusions are not stated on the page; the page does not say whether the registration fee and expense advance are one-time; confirm with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 94,000, this fee is CAD 4,350 above the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: a safe first step
- Gradual adjustment: The student first strengthens their language, then moves on to advanced courses such as AP. This order protects self-confidence.
- Personal space: A single room provides privacy and order away from home, and is reassuring for parents too.
- A well-rounded application file: Work in the five areas creates experiences to describe in a university application. Recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.
- A solution for holidays: The school offers the option of staying on campus, for a fee, during long weekends and mid-term breaks, so returning home for short holidays is not necessary.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Cost: According to the school's fee page, the international boarding fee is CAD 94,000 for grades 9-12 and CAD 86,300 for grades 7-8. On top of these come a CAD 5,000 registration fee and a CAD 3,000 expense advance. Because the page does not state the school year, the amounts need to be confirmed with the school.
- Location: Belleville is a small city in Ontario on the shore of the Bay of Quinte. The calm setting makes it easier to focus, but it does not offer the bustle of a big city.
- Timeline: The website does not give a fixed application deadline. An interview is mandatory for applicants to grades 7-12. Because of the Study Permit processing time, the application should be started a year in advance. The visa decision is made by IRCC. A custodian in Canada must be appointed for students under 17.
To assess whether Albert College is right for your child's first experience abroad, you can schedule a free preliminary assessment meeting with Canadian Edu Centre. Language level and budget can be discussed together.